Pimp my Container – KZNIA – Part 1

25 Jul

I have PechaKucha to thank for this blogpost. I was congratulating Georgie Chennels from KZNIA on Facebook, on an article in the Saturday newspaper about the Durban PechaKucha, which she coordinates. She replied saying that if I was in the area, I might want to swing round their offices in Glenwood as an “Artist was painting their Shipping Container”. Well needless to say, curiosity got the better of me and I made my way down there….camera in hand 🙂

I found a small gathering of people (including Nina Saunders, President of the KZNIA) watching artist Wes van Eeden work his magic. The container “pimping” is partly to enliven the public space, which is slap bang around the corner from Durban’s trendy Davenport Road District. It aslo serves to promote the New Paradigms Conference.

Wes will be back next weekend to finish the job and I will be there camera in hand…..watch this space!

Wes can be reached HERE

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

